Academy Series

UN Global Compact Sepcial Academy Series: Regional Perspectives on Leadership in a Global Crisis

The United Nations Global Compact has shared a special appeal #UnitingBusiness around a corporate response to the COVID-19 pandemic: for all companies to take collective action to stem the outbreak through implementing our Ten Principles in the areas of human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption.

The COVID-19 pandemic has spurred an unprecedented economic and social crisis, with low-income workers and small businesses being hit the hardest. Across the region, policy issues including variations on universal basic income are gaining traction, while healthcare investment is experiencing a wave of support. 

Businesses are also being called upon to stand together to facilitate business continuity for a fast recovery. Effectively addressing this crisis requires an active response from Governments, business and the whole of society. Leaders including UN Secretary-General António Guterres and the Director-General of the World Health Organization Tedros Adhanom have called for Governments and businesses to work together with all sectors of society to meet this challenge.

What lessons can we learn from the COVID-19 pandemic? How can policy and business leaders ensure we are on track to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and fulfill the promise of the Paris Agreement during the Decade of Action?

Join us for one of six regional spotlight sessions as part of a special series from the UN Global Compact Academy highlighting new and existing approaches to leadership in a time of global crisis. In these sessions, you’ll hear from leaders from the United Nations, Government and business as they share their experiences responding to COVID-19 and discuss how to pursue immediate and coordinated multi-stakeholder action.

 

Further information and registration for the regional Academy sessions:

Perspectives from China on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday 12 May 2020 | 9:00 a.m. (Jakarta) 10:00 a.m (Beijing) | 11:00 a.m. (Tokyo) | 12:00 p.m. (Melbourne)

 

Perspectives from Asia-Pacific on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday,12 May 2020 | 9:30am (New Delhi) | 11:00 a.m. (Bangkok) | 2 p.m. (Melbourne)

 

Perspective from the Middle East on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 8:30 a.m. (Cairo) | 9:30 a.m. (Beirut) | 10:30 a.m. (Dubai)

 

Perspectives from Africa on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 12:00 p.m. (Cape Town) | 1:00 p.m. (Nairobi)

 

Perspectives from Latin America & the Caribbean on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 10:30 a.m. (New York) | 9:30 a.m. (Panama) | 11.30 a.m. (Buenos Aires)

 

Perspectives from Europe on Leadership in a Global Crisis

Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 8:30 a.m. (New York) | 1:30 p.m. (London) | 2:30 p.m. (Copenhagen) | 3:30 p.m. (Kiev)

Go to top